You are here

NELC-PISP Presents Third Iran Film Initiative in collaboration with SIFF 2018

Submitted by Selim S. Kuru on May 17, 2018 - 11:16am
siff, persian and iranian studies program, PISP, 2018

The Near Eastern Languages and Civilization's Persian and Iranian Studies Program collaborates with SIFF for another Iran Film Initiative at the 2018 Seattle International Film Festival. In its third year, the initiative presents five movies with attendance by directors Shirin Neshat and Sadaf Foroughi. Shirin Neshat also will have a conversation with Professors Samad Alavi (NELC) and Sonal Khullar (Art history).

Below please find the screening schedule. Make sure you purchase your tickets right away as they sell out very quickly.

The Committee, Justine Barda, Shaghayegh Ghanbari, Michael Nassirian, and David Woodward with NELC Faculty Shahrzad Shams, is grateful to the following individuals & organizations for their generous support:

Anonymous , Sinikka and Babak Parviz, Baabak Nassirian at FYF Productions, Nima Foroutan, DDS, Shadi Araghi, DDS, Highlands Kids Dentistry, AIBC (American Iranian Business Council), Mike Moghaddas at Avenue Properties, University of Washington Persian & Iranian Studies Program at NELC, University of Washington Faculty, Naini Family Foundation, Sanaz Namdar & Ali Ahmadi, Iranshahr Radio, Professional Copy N Print

 

Film Schedules:

THE CHARMER
Friday May 18 4:00 PM SIFF Cinema Uptown Theater
Sunday May 27 9:00 PM Pacific Place Cinemas
Wednesday June 6 9:00 PM SIFF Cinema Uptown Theater

A MAN OF INTEGRITY
Saturday May 19 3:45 PM SIFF Cinema Egyptian
Monday May 21 9:00 PM Majestic Bay Cinemas
Tuesday May 22 4:15 PM SIFF Cinema Uptown Theater

LOOKING FOR OUM KULTHUM (Director Shirin Neshat is scheduled to attend screenings for Q & A)
Saturday May 19 6:00 PM Lincoln Square
Sunday May 20 11:00 AM Pacific Place Cinemas
Director Shirin Neshat will be giving a talk at 3:00 on Sunday May 20th at University of Washington

AVA (Director Sadaf Foroughi is scheduled to attend screenings for Q & A)
Wednesday May 23 6:30 PM Lincoln Square
Thursday May 24 3:00 PM SIFF Cinema Uptown Theater

PIG (Director Mani Haghighi is scheduled to attend screenings for Q & A)
Friday June 1 9:30 PM SIFF Cinema Uptown Theater
Saturday June 2 2:30 PM SIFF Cinema Uptown Theater
Sunday June 3 3:15 PM Kirkland Performance Center

Share